Citizens' Utility Ratepayer Board

Board Members: Brian Weber, Chair Ellen K. Janoski, Vice-Chair Bob Kovar, Member James L. Mullin II, Member Bob Hall, Member



David Springe, Consumer Counsel 1500 S.W. Arrowhead Road Topeka, Kansas 66604-4027 Phone: (785) 271-3200 Fax: (785) 271-3116 http://curb.kansas.gov

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE –November 4, 2015 (Topeka, Kansas)

Brian Weber, Chair of the Citizens' Utility Ratepayer Board (CURB), announced today that the Board has accepted the resignation of David Springe, who has served as Consumer Counsel for CURB since 2002. Mr. Springe's last day will be December 4, 2015. Springe is leaving his post as chief advocate for the state's residential and small commercial utility customers to be the Executive Director of the National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates (NASUCA)¹ in Washington, DC.

The Board also announced today that Niki Christopher, who has been an attorney with the agency since 2000, has agreed to serve as Acting Consumer Counsel pending the selection by the Board of a permanent replacement for Springe.

Of his decision, which surprised many of his colleagues, Springe said, "While it's been a great privilege to serve as Consumer Counsel for CURB, it is time for a new challenge for me, and time for fresh leadership at CURB. I am confident that everyone at CURB will continue to carry on the good work we've done here for the past thirteen years."

"We're sorry to see David leave, but we certainly wish him and his family well. David has been a tireless advocate for utility customers in Kansas" said Weber. Weber added that the board will begin the process of selecting a new Consumer Counsel immediately.

¹ NASUCA is a voluntary association of 44 consumer advocate offices in 41 states and the District of Columbia. NASUCA's members are designated by the laws of their respective jurisdictions to represent the interests of utility consumers before state and federal regulators and in the courts. CURB is a NASUCA member office. Springe served as President of NASUCA from 2007-2009. See NASUCA.org for more information.