seal of the State of Kansas  
Citizens' Utility Ratepayer Board (CURB)

About Us

History of CURB

Initially, the Chairman of the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC) established CURB in 1988 when he perceived a need for a stronger consumer advocate. During the 1989 legislative session, House Bill 2454 was passed and signed by the Governor. This bill established CURB as a state agency effective July 1, 1989. House Bill 2454 contained a two-year sunset provision. CURB's enabling legislation is set forth in K.S.A. 66-1222 et seq. (1989). During the 1991 legislative session, House Bill 2439 was passed by the legislature and signed by the Governor. This bill re-authorized CURB and clarified its funding mechanism and budgeting process. This bill also separated CURB from the KCC for budgetary purposes and made CURB an independent agency.

Mission Statement

Our mission is to protect the interests of residential and small commercial utility ratepayers in the state of Kansas.

Meet our Board Members

CURB has a five-member volunteer board that is appointed by the Governor. There is one member from each congressional district with the fifth member serving as an at-large appointee. Each member of the board serves a four-year term.

Meet our Staff

CURB employs a consumer counsel, one supporting attorney, a technical position (accountant/economist), and two administrative staff.